Archive for October, 2008

WARNING: scammer Karleigh Antell hits Craigslist

October 19, 2008

.The following warning appeared on Craigslist Paris today. Beware!:

.

WATCH OUT: SCAMMER Karleigh Antell (karleigh_antell@yahoo.co.uk) (READ THIS)


Here is his ad:      

EUR500 Room for rent (Paris) 

Reply to: hous-884448069@craigslist.org [?] 
Date: 2008-10-18, 11:50PM CEST      

Ideally located in Paris, at 50 meters from a subway station (line4) that goes through all Paris, and takes you to Montparnasse in 10 minutes. 

Tramway and many buses at 2 minutes: 28 to Champs de Mars and the Champs Elysees, 38 to Latin quarter, 68 to the Opera House and the famous department stores,RER B at 5 minutes direct toward Charles de Gaulle airport. 

Safe area, typical parisian cafe-terrasses nearby, close shopping, including a small supermarket, bakery, drugstore, etc 

For your leisures, above all the parisian life night, you’ll find a movie theater at 5 minutes by foot, and the lovely Montsouris Park 

Quiet and light modern apartment, wooden floors, 3bedrooms, living/dining room, kitchen & separate bathroom and toilet. 

Furnished, fully equipped (washing machine, dishwasher, microwave,fan, ovens, television, hi-fi,Modern Kitchen, High Speed Internet ETC) 

Closest University 
Sorbonne University nearby 
Orsay 
Location: Paris 
it’s NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests 
PostingID: 884448069 

Here is what he replies: 

The room is still available.We are from Leeds in England and currently not in Paris.We only use this house for our annual family vacation,it is a 3bedroom house we are renting 2rooms my room and my kid brother’s room.We have a 22yrs female Russian student in my brother’s room already.The house is fully furnished.It is located at 12 Rue Monge, 75005 5ème Arrondissement, Paris. 

The room is 500Euro per month covers all utilities with refundable 600Euro security deposit.Minimum stay is 1month.Regards making payment you will make deposit of 300Euro if you really want us to reserve the room for you,this is to assure us that you are serious in taking the room.So that my dad will come to Paris to usher you into the house and collect the balance in cash.We have had some bad experiences in the past where my dad scheduled to meet with people but on arriving Paris none of them came money,energy and time wasted.Since them my dad maintained that anybody that wants to rent our house must make deposit before he will leave UK to Paris.If you are comfortable with this arrangement get back to me so that i will send you pictures. 

You can call my dad Mr.Collins Antell on +447024098894 or +447024010697 

Karleigh 

   
   

Local Realtor Caught in International Scam

October 13, 2008

CBS News, Richmond, VA

Posted: Oct 13, 2008 03:45 PM

A legitimate ad for a rental property in Chesterfield is used to try and rip people off. A third party intercepted the ad, posted it on Craigslist posing as a realtor to get the first months rent. CBS 6 News has learned this is not the first time.

Kerstin Stoval says she says internet scammers tried to rip people off using her name after she posted an ad on a rental property website. She says a scammer tried to get potential renters to send a $400 deposit plus $800 for the first month’s rent, then he would send them the keys. It’s a story she wants all potential renters to hear.

To read the rest of the story, click here.

HUNDREDS OF CRAIGSLIST SCAMMERS UNCOVERED

October 9, 2008

Click on the link below and see a comprehensive list of fraudsters. You’ll be amazed at just how many are on here!!

http://chicaneryconsscams.blogspot.com/2008_01_27_archive.html

AVOID THESE PEOPLE AT ALL COSTS.

A big thank you to The Quirked Eyebrow for putting so much time and effort into keeping everyone safe. You’re a champ.

BEWARE: scammer tenant Helen Colt targets students

October 8, 2008

Beware of scammer “Helen Colt”, helen_ct001@yahoo.com, who targets both apartment owners and students looking for flatmates. This thief claims to be in Dubai but writes from IP address 196.3.183.73, Nigeria Afrinic.

 

From: helen colt <helen_ct001@yahoo.com>
Subject: need a room in paris
.
Am Helen, 25yrs old female student final year student studying art and culture in dubai University Dubai. Will be coming over to  paris on a research on health and culture for my project.. i saw the listing of you renting an apartment in your place… i can’t come and view the place before i move in and am also okay with the location of the place as well…can i know the amount to be paid for the first month rent including all other bills.i Will be needing the apartment for like 5month or more than. I am really interested.



Internet fraudsters in rent scam

October 7, 2008

Nigel Morris, BBC News

Thursday 2 October 2008
.
Prospective tenants are being conned out of thousands of pounds in an elaborate internet scam, a BBC London investigation has found.
Conmen put exclusive properties at low rents on advertising website Gumtree then trick payments from would-be tenants via money transfer agencies.
BBC London found the e-mail addresses of the scammers originated in Nigeria.
.
To read the rest of the story, click here.

BEWARE: scammer Ferrari Stephany Jose

October 6, 2008

Beware of scammer using the alias Ferrari Stephany Jose (f_stepjose86@yahoo.com). This thief claims to have a ridiculously cheap apartment for rent in France but writes from IP address 72.3.137.83, United Kingdom Net2roam Ltd, yuma.onspeed.com.

From: Ferrari Stephany Jose <f_stepjose86@yahoo.com>
Subject: Bedroom apartment for rent in Paris
Good day,
I’m well pleased to get back to you with the details concerning the apartment which I have available for rent ,am Stephany 22 years old  from  France.
 
  Kindly go through the details/info stated thus;Hope it will suits your findings/taste. 
-Dryer/washer
-Wireless internet connection
-Air conditioner 
-Spacious closets
-Rent 400EUROS
-DeposiT 700EUROS REFUNDABLE
-Month to Month lease.
-Furnished bedroom.
-Washer Machine
-Utilities included. 
 Let me hear from you through my email if you havent find any so i can send you more details and the pictures of the apartment to you.
Regards
Stephany………………..
.
Another report about this scammer can be found here.

WARNING: Scammer “Mike Brown”

October 2, 2008

A scammer using the alias “Mike Brown” (brownmike75@yahoo.com) responds to housing wanted ads posted on Craigslist. He writes from IP address 41.219.197.102, Nigeria Assigned To Lagos Dial-pool Customers, dial-pool36.lg.starcomms.net. BEWARE!

From: Mike Brown <brownmike75@yahoo.com>
Subject: APPARTMENT FOR RENT IN PARIS
Hello,I have an apartment in PARIS that i am not currently staying in. It is a 2 bedroom apartment.the flat is furnished with good quality furniture and boasts new laminated wood flooring throughout. The accommodation comprises of storage space, eat-in newly fitted kitchen with all machines including cooker, oven, microwave, fridge/freezer and washer/dryer; a fully tiled contemporary bathroom and a separate WC.An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, a hall-dining room and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven, microwave, washing machine, refrigerator, washing machine and dryer. Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.  I will not be in PARIS till December 2009 for Christmas but arrangements will be made for you to move in if you are willing to rent it.the rent is 850eur per month,pls reply with your phone number
MIKE

Rent scam rips off students

October 1, 2008
The Age (Australia), October 2, 2008

AN ONLINE scam offering cheap rental accommodation is exploiting international students unfamiliar with the best way to find a place to live in Melbourne during a rental property drought.

The Tenants Union of Victoria said yesterday it had received 12 reports of students losing about $1000 each in the past three weeks.

Policy and liaison worker Toby Archer said the scam lured students with promises of cheap rent for inner-city apartments on websites such as easyroommate.com and realestate.com.au, one of Australia’s most popular property sites.

Students were told the Australian landlord was overseas and the first month’s rent and deposit should be paid into an overseas bank account before keys could be posted to the prospective tenant.

“Needless to say, the keys never arrive,” Mr Archer said.

To read the rest of the story, click here.