SCAM ALERT: EUR400 / 1br – Fully Furnished One Bedroom Apartment For Rent (Paris)

By ruedeseine

Yet another warning on Craigslist:

EUR400 / 1br – SCAM!!! 1br – Fully Furnished One Bedroom Apartment For Rent (Paris)

 

Reply to:hous-gpfdh-1185245050@craigslist.org 
Date: 2009-05-23, 6:31PM CEST
Be aware – the posting with the above headline is a scam!!! He claims the apartment is located on 7 rue du Gros Caillou, Paris 75007, France and the guy’s name (at least right now!) is Mark Richardson. His mobile # is from Nigeria. 
The guy claims to have moved to West Africa and taken the keys with him, hence you can only view the apartment from the outside. The rent is €400 PER MONTH, because he only cares about you taking care of his newly renovated apartment while he is 3 years in West Africa with his job. When you answer his questions, you get approved straight away and he then asks you to wire deposit and 1st month rent €800 via Western Union or Money Gram. Read the fraud guidelines on Craigslist …. NEVER wire money via Western Union or Money Gram to a stranger – it is ALWAYS a scam. When it looks to good to be true – it always is! 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “SCAM ALERT: EUR400 / 1br – Fully Furnished One Bedroom Apartment For Rent (Paris)”

  1. carlareefs Says:

    I am looking for a apartment in Athens, Greece, and I came across the same the same posting “EUR400 / 1br – Fully Furnished One Bedroom Apartment For Rent”. I contacted the person and he said pretty much the same thing – he moved to the UK and took the keys with him, so a viewing was not possible. He also said elaborated that he wants the apartment to be kept really neat and clean. He said that I should send him a deposit, and that he’ll send me the keys via courier after that, and added that if I am not happy with the apartment, then he’ll return the deposit. I suspected it was a scam and found your posting.

  2. Shel Says:

    I found the same ad on craigs list in ottawa, and I reported him!

  3. Shel Says:

    this time it was in Ottawa. And the same as the above email altho he was a christian missionary over in Nigeria and didn’t want a third party involved so he had the keys….we have called him on it yet he won’t stop calling our house!

Leave a Reply