SCAM ALERT: Kortis Rentals / Kortis Properties / City Rentals

Watch out for this fake agency operating on Craigslist Paris and elsewhere:

Scammer alias: Rapheal (or Raphael) Sinclair

kortisrentals@gmail.com, booking@kortisproperties.com, infobooking@kortisproperties.com

Scam website: http://www.kortisproperties.com

From a recent post on Scamwarners:

Quick warning that the website http://www.kortisproperties.com is a scam and a fraud. Rapheal Sinclair will take your deposit and disappear with it.

Same phone numbers and same scam as mentioned before on ScamWarners
Tel: +44 (0) 7519569598 Fax: +44 208 181 6081
Address: 120 Queensgate |South Kensington, London SW7 5LE, England
Email: booking@kortisproperties.com

Front Desk Officer :Rapheal Sinclair

He is currently advertising holiday lets in London on Craig’s List, all of them at 25% of the going rate, with descriptions involving impossible geography eg flat near Hyde Park is moments from Covent Garden – it’s an hour’s walk.

Related scam agencies:

http://www.cityoflondonhomes.com/ (info.cityoflondonapartments@googlemail.com)

http://www.london-homerentals.co.uk/

http://www.central-londonshotlets.com

http://www.panteysapartmentflat.com

newlondonapartment@gmail.com

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Geoff Caulfield  On December 18, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Hi there,

    Over the last 24 hours I have been communicating by email with a person claiming to be Rapheal Sincliar. I have received bank details to deposit money into for short term rental of a London apartment. A/c details as follows;

    Geoff,
    Find below the account to make payment to have the transfer slip scan and
    send to me as soon as the transfer as been effected and as soon as the
    money has been confirmed into the account a confirmation booking as well
    as invoice for payment will be issue to you.

    Account name: Mr. A Venkat

    Sort code: 09-01-27

    Account number:24022776

    Bic swift code:ABBYGB2LXXX

    IBAN: GB32ABBY09012724022776

    Abbey bank plc.

    Regards,
    Rapheal Sinclair

    Would you please inform me of the legitimacy of this business?

    Regards, Geoff

    • ruedeseine  On December 18, 2009 at 11:10 pm

      Geoff, please read the warning above. This is a scam. It is NOT a legitimate business. Do not send funds to this company. You will lose your money and never get it back.

  • Cassandra  On December 19, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    There is a Rev Gabriel Milenio – he posted rentals on rentspot for a home in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada…The application was exactly like one of the ones I saw on here. Of course then came the email to forward money through Western Union in order to get the key.

  • valeria fittipaldi  On January 17, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    thank you for you Allert.
    We were ready to pay a booking for a flat in London…..
    Thank you once again!

  • yolanda dias  On September 5, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    I responded to an ad on Craigslist and this person responded to it. I Google her name and found info that she was involved in scams here and other countries. Here is the response I received from her. She goes under many aliases.

    Hello,
    How are you doing?.Thanks for your response to my post. I want you to know that Im not able to come visit or to see the place now but a full description and perhaps few pictures will be enough.
    About me and my situation My name is Jennifer Arne Walcot but my friends call me jeni I am 29 years old born Nov 19 1981,i work as a nurse and ive been working for a few years now.iwas born and raised here in Idaho where I lived with both my parents before my mum died in a car accident in 2001 .I graduated in Idaho State University and I’ve worked in Beacon Hospital .my Reason for moving is to work somewhere else in search of a better position outside and im already making enquiries with the hospitals in the area and im very positive about it .

    me–I’m clean but not a neat freak. I don’t drink or smoke, I go to Church on Sunday. Not a Church freak either,im honest,responsible and I have regard for peoples properties .I will pay my rent on time,I won’t keep late nights and I wont cause any trouble.im a fun loving person and in my free time I like to swim,read go the movies and go out with friends.If you would like to see my picture so as to add a face to my words,pl’s let me know and I’ll send it in my next email.id love to to talk on the phone to make things faster but i just lost my phone in a grocery store and just ordered a new one but i hope we can communicate via email for now

    I’ll like to pay in advance a security deposit to secure the place so i don’t have to worry about anything and the more reason is because I plans to travel to Canada to take care of my sick sister and I’ll want everything in place by the time I get back.Im planning to move in ASAP so pl’s respond with everything I need to know

    sincerely
    jennifer

    • nancy  On October 12, 2010 at 7:07 pm

      Thanks for the heads up. I am glad my radar was up and did a search. If I hadn’t found this post I may have been the next victim. THANK YOU for having the courage to post!

  • RMB-North Carolina  On November 9, 2010 at 7:07 am

    WATCH OUT FOR THESE SCAMMERS: NOT ONLY JENI ARNI WALCOT BUT ALSO LAURA JONES THEY WERE BOTH ON CRAIGS LIST RALEIGH/DURHAM, NC AREA:

    I just received an email from Jeni Arne Walcot wanting to rent my upstairs in my home. It was almost – word for word -as email dated above:

    her email address used: lifeoflove001@aol.com
    Hello,
    How are you doing?.Thanks for your response to my post. I want you to know that I’m not able to come visit or to see the place now but a full description and perhaps few pictures will be enough.
    About me and my situation My name is Jennifer Arne Walcot but my friends call me jeni I am 29 years old born Nov 19 1981,I work as a nurse and I’ve been working for a few years now.my Reason for moving is to work somewhere else in search of a better position outside and im already making enquiries with the hospitals in the area and I’m very positive about i want you to know that im capable of paying the rent before i find a job,if that is a concern for you

    me–I’m Clean but not a freak about it. I drink socially but I don’t smoke, I go to Church sometimes but Not a Church freak either,I’m honest,responsible and I have regard for peoples properties .i love having fun concerts,camping,music etc.I will pay my rent on time and I wont cause any drama.im a friendly person so I get along fine with people
    If you would like to see my picture so as to add a face to my words,pl’s let me know and I’ll send it in my next email.id love to talk on the phone to make things faster but i just lost my phone in a grocery store and just ordered a new one so pl’s bear with me cos I can communicate via email for now.im looking to rent for 6 months or more so pls get back asap

    I got a bad news that my sister is sick and i will be traveling to Canada to take care of her for a while. I’ll want everything in place by the time I get back so
    I’ll like to pay in advance a security deposit to secure the place so i don’t have to worry about anything when i get back in about a week to this time .pl’s respond with everything I need to know because im serious and want to move in ASAP

    byexxx
    jennifer

    Another one to watch out for: laura.jones00@yahoo.com

    Hi,

    Thank you very much for the response to my ad on craigslist but before we move forward,i will like you to know the full information about me. I was born and razed in Oregon,i am quiet and easy going person to live with. I’m 26 years of age, I am extremely clean,quiet and respectful, I am sensitive, intelligent and am easy to get on with. ..I am a faithful and committed person, who is very considerate of other people’s feelings. I don’t drug and i dont smoke or drink.. I enjoy going out with my friends to movies, plays, parks, hikes, anything to do with the ocean and horses but i’m cool living with people.

    Right now, am working for a Non Government Organization on a program on children with orphans and heart related probs.My next program/seminars will be in your town and I will need a room to stay for these seminars, so I want to secure a room before my arrival.

    I must confess that i’m comfortable with the area of the house/apt and i am ready to pay for the room. I will like to make the payment for the first month ahead of my arrival, and then i will make subsequent payment thereafter as i plan to stay for 6-12months.I have told my boss about this and he promised to make sure that he will meet up with the payment so that I can depart from here as scheduled.He also said I will have the advantage to make payment for deposit .I should arrive to your place on or before the Mid of November, so pls keep room for me till my arrival.He also said my mode of payment will be the Most acceptable,safer and reliable means of payment which is United state certified money order,so get back to me with your name and address so that i can send you the payment as early as possible.

    Kindest Regards,
    Laura.

    ===========================================================

    My husband and I actally received a check in the mail from Laura Jones. It was mailed from Africa, the shipping company was out of Nigeria. PLEASE DO NOT BE FOOLED – LUCKILY WE CAUGHT IT AND THANKS TO OTHERS DEALING WITH JENI WE WILL NOT BE FOOLED AGAIN.

    THANK YOU,
    RMB

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers