SCAM WARNING: Josef Gutmannsbauer

Some recent reports about a prolific scammer using alias Josef Gutmannsbauer, (josgutman@ymail.com). BEWARE!

.

November 12, 2009

I got this one when I was looking for accommodation in Copenhagen (November 2009)… It’s from a “Josef Gutman” (josgutman@ymail.com)… I took a random line from the email, googled it, and I found myself at this blog. Thanks for setting it up!!!

Here’s the text of the email below…

“Hello,
My two bedroom apartment in Copenhagen is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.

Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven,
microwave, washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer.Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

The price of the apartment is 2600DKK for your period of stay, if you are interested get back to me so I can provide you with more details and also the rental application form.

Regards,

Josef.”

.

January 14, 2010

Hello

Apperently the guy has an appartment in Amsterdam aswell, found this blog while googling the email-adress: Josgutman@ymail.com. Thanks for this blog

Here’s the response i got
“Hello,
My one bedroom apartment in Jordaan is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.

Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven,
microwave, washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer.Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

The price of the apartment is 500EUR per month, if you are interested get back to me so I can provide you with more details and also the rental application form.

Regards,

Josef.”

.

January 14, 2010

This Guy also goes under the name of Josef Gutmannsbauer. Sent me an ad from Tel Aviv saying he had an apartment for rent. Glad for this listing so no one gets taken.

.

January 16, 2010

Okay, watch out for Rome now. Josef Gutmannsbauer. Same telephone number.

“Hello,
My two bedroom apartment in Monti is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.

Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven,
microwave, washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer.Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

The price of the apartment is 800EUR per month, if you are interested get back to me so I can provide you with more details and also the rental application form.

Regards,

Josef.”

.

.

January 24, 2010

BE CAREFULL , watch out for ROMA now. Josef GUTMANNSBAUER. Same telephone number. with fake ID.

“Hello,
My two bedroom apartment in Monti is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.

Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven,
microwave, washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer.Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

The price of the apartment is 800EUR per month, if you are interested get back to me so I can provide you with more details and also the rental application form.

Regards,

Josef

.

February 5, 2010

I’ve just been cheated by the same guy – what can be done about it?

.

February 11, 2010

DEAR ALL
HE IS A SCAMMER. I WIRED SOME MONEYS AND NOW NO NEWS. DON’T TRUST HIM EVEN IF HE SAYS HE WILL SEND YOU THE KEYS BY MAIL BLA BLA
HE IS A LIAR. JUST ONE WAY TO KNOW HIM : ASK HIM ABOUT VIENNA ABOUT A FAKE AREA NAME HE WILL HESITATE PROBABLY OR TELL YOU HE KNOWS AND BINGO!!!

I HAD HIM SEVERAL TIME ON THE PHONE HE SOUNDED CORRECT BUT HE IS A LIAR

AND JOSEF GUTMANSBAEUR IS CERTAINLY THE REAL VICTIM OF IDENTITY THEFT HE HAS STOLEN.

CORNELIA, FILE TO THE POLICE AND PUT A WARNING ON FBK TO AVOID YOUR IDENTITY TO BE STOLEN

.

February 17, 2010

I got scammed by this Josef character. I didn’t even think about being scammed. Is there anything I can do?

Thanks.

More here: http://parishousingscamwatch.wordpress.com/2008/10/02/warning-scammer-mike-brown/

and here: http://parishousingscamwatch.wordpress.com/2009/04/16/warning-scammer-lynsey-douglas-l_douglas_111hotmailcom/

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • michael  On February 24, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    I just received an email from Mr. Gutmannsbauer after posting a rental apartment need for Rome. He responded this afternoon to my inquiry. I became suspicious when I looked at the photos of the apartment, and determined that not all photos were of the same aprtment (I’m an architect), that he quoted me two different prices (very inexpensive) and that he asked me to fill out a form, stating he would send me the keys to the unit. So, I just Googled his name, and this blog came up. I’m so glad I Googled his name before sending him money!! Following is the email he sent to me today:

    Hello Michael,

    Thanks for your reply. Hope you do understand that the most important issue is the upkeep of the apartment. I have attached some pictures of the apartment, I took them a day to my departure. The rent per month plus all utilities is 350EUR.
    The apartment is located on Piazza San Giovanni della Malva, Rome 00153, Italy. The apartment is located in downtown, historical centre at Trastevere district near the most important tourist attraction: 3 min walking from Piazza Farnese – Campo de’ Fiori
    5 mins from Piazza Navona
    5-10 mins from Colosseum – Paltino hill – Fori Imperiali
    15 min Spanisch Steps
    15 min Trevi Fountain – Quirinale Hill.
    Nearest Metro / Subway: Trastevere – 700 Meters
    Nearest Bus / Tramway: Viale Trastevere and Lungotevere – 150 Meters
    Nearest Airport: Fiumicino – 30 Kilometers

    Here below is a copy of the rental application form, if still interested fill it out and get back to me. Note: the keys and necessary documents will be sent to your present address filled on the form.

    APPLICATION TO RENT

    OCCUPANCY DATE DESIRED:

    PERSONAL INFORMATION:

    LastName: FirstName: Middle Initial:

    Date of Birth:

    Telephone Number: Alt. Telephone Number:

    The total number of proposed occupants including yourself

    RENTAL HISTORY:

    Current Address:

    EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION:

    Job Title:
    Company Name:
    Length of Employment: Supervisor/Mgr. Name:
    Employer Address &
    Contact
    Information:

    REFERENCE:

    Name: Phone Number:
    Address: Relationship:

    I hereby represent that all of the above information is true, accurate and complete,
    and agree to furnish additional credit references on request.

    DATE:
    ……………………..

    Thanks,
    Awaiting your reply.

    Josef.

  • Serena  On February 25, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Micheal, the same has happened to me! Same city (Rome), same offer, same e-mail and, of course, same sender.

  • Virginia  On February 26, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Hello everybody, I went to report this Josef Gutmannsbauer to the police because he is a real scammer !!!!!! Be aware ! Hopefully one day he will be trapped ! What a miserable existency to cheat on peoples and steal their money !

  • Karin  On March 4, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Hello, thank you for all this information – I also had contact with J. Gutmannsbauer – he even sent me some email adresses as references. There is an other scammer named Suz’Billin. I even sent him money – same story with the keys etc. Be aware of suzbillin007@yahoo.com. Exactly the same fad exept this person wants you make to believe that he/she is seriously ill an tells you an absolutely believable story and plays with your good will and feelings. It’s a shame.

    I also went to report Suz’Billin to the police. I really do feel with you all.

  • Allie  On March 24, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Just got the very same email (almost word for word as above) from this guy under the name Edwin Bekeens for an apartment in Berlin. (Edwin Bekeens )

    Before realizing the scam, I replied using my real email address–does this mean I have put my risk for some form of email identity theft? I did not send him any other info about myself though.

    Any info others may have would be very helpful. Thanks!

    • Nicole  On April 9, 2011 at 10:29 am

      Allie,
      I replied to Edwin Bekeens to the exact same email but for an apartment in Rome. I filled out the application form and everything and then he sent me an email back saying something about sending him money through western union. I read on Easy Stanza not to deal with anyone that mentions anything about western union. And then i just stumbled upon this website! I feel so cheated and i’m so annoyed! I cannot get over how many scammers there are out there.

  • Virginia  On March 25, 2010 at 12:15 am

    Hi Allie , I think there is no risk with your e-mail address , I gave mine too. What the guys are after is really the money !I had asked the same question to the police and they thought there was no problem. If you want to check whether the person is trustworthy or not , go on google , write the name , for ex. Edwin Bekeens + fraud ,it will have a record if there is a problem.
    My question is : Why are all theese peoples not banned from the site?

  • Logan  On April 13, 2010 at 6:06 am

    I got this today as well in response to my ad on craigslist:

    From: Edwin Bekeens
    My one bedroom apartment in Amsterdam is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.
    Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven, microwave,washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer. Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

  • Anna  On April 13, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    BEWARE OF EDWIN BEKEENS!

    I posted a Wanted ad on craiglist looking for an apartment in Tel Aviv and got the same text that has been posted here already several times:

    Hello,

    My two bedroom apartment in Tel Aviv is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.
    Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven, microwave,washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer. Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

    The price of the apartment is 2250ILS for your period of stay, if you are interested get back to me so I can provide you with more details and also the rental application form.

    Regards,

    Edwin

  • A>V  On April 19, 2010 at 5:56 am

    Also got a similar mail from Edwin Bekeens on a craiglist ad (amsterdam).
    And another from Jill Simmons. She even sent me a picture of her AND a passport copy.

  • A>V  On April 19, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    and another one (same story /tactics)

    he wants to send a western union form to your address. so just give him a fake address, just so that he wastes his money. what a jerk.

    Sander Cristina Marques Valente
    m.s.c.v1978@hotmail.com

  • Nate  On April 21, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Hello,

    My one bedroom apartment in Monti is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.
    Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven, microwave,washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer. Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

    The price of the apartment is 550EUR per month, if you are interested get back to me so I can provide you with more details and also the rental application form.
     
    Regards,

    Edwin.

    this message was remailed to you via: hous-mmvqx-1704070646@craigslist.org

    Edwin Bekeens
    edwin.beks@gmail.com

  • Jill  On April 29, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Josef is now trying to scam under the name of Edwin Bekeens he is using the email edwin.beks@gmail.com

    I was looking for a place in Rome and it’s the same email!

    Hello,

    My one bedroom apartment in Monti is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.
    Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven, microwave,washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer. Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

    The price of the apartment is 500EUR for your period of stay, if you are interested get back to me so I can provide you with more details and also the rental application form.
     
    Regards,

    Edwin.

  • diana  On May 9, 2010 at 4:25 am

    He contacted me via Craigslist Paris, exact same e-Mail. Thanks for sharing this here! Edwin Bekeens is definitely a SCAM!

  • kb  On May 14, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    exact same email from edwin. unbelievable

  • Stupid  On May 15, 2010 at 2:01 am

    And another one! I hope somebody will do him wrong hardcore, ha!

    I went through your filled form and I’m satisfied with the information you provided. Please be informed that I might have to contact your reference to verify some information. I will have the keys and document of the apartment which has all the information of the apartment,the exact address and amenities sent to your present address…after you’ve made the deposit payment. Here’s my number, +447024053762 you can call me at your convenience so we have a little talk. I wont be available on phone through the weekend so we can get to talk on phone my Monday.

    You will make a deposit payment of 300EUR as up front deposit to reserve the apartment. The payment would be made through western union money transfer using my information…

    Name: Edwin Bekeens
    Address: 17 Richmond St Newham, London E13 9AA, UK
    I have attached a copy of my passport,the photo page as a form of identification. Please find attached doc.

    Once you’re through with the payment get back to me with the information I’ll need to confirm the transaction.Then I will proceed to send the package and when I’m through I will send you the tracking number immediately so you can confirm the shipment and also check the status of the package.

    Awaiting your reply soon!
    Best regards,

    Edwin.

  • Hmmm  On May 15, 2010 at 2:12 am

    Jack Lawson also a Fraud, transvering money to Nigeria? i really did not fall on the back of my head! Watch is he offers a nice place in Amsterdam via Craigslist! Scam Scam Scam

    Hi,

    Thanks for your response and I really appreciate your trusting and promise to take very good care of our flat..So here is the information of my secretary where you will send the payment..You will have to go to any nearest westernunion grocery stores and send the money.If the payment is confirm tomorrow morning you will recieve the keys on Monday.

    Recievers name:JULAN DAVIS
    Address: 14c willson avenue
    City: Victoria Island
    State: Lagos
    Country: Nigeria
    Zip code: 23401
    Text Question : In God
    Answer : We Trust
    Amount Sending:200Euro

    Here is the nearest westernunion where you can make the payment tomorrow:

    GWK TRAVELEX
    Dam 23 25
    Amsterdam, 1012JS
    09:15 – 19:00
    POTT CHANGE BV
    Damrak 95
    Amsterdam, 1012LP
    09:00 – 20:00

    As soon as you wire the payment Please get back to me with the following Information :

    Sender’s Full Name & Address
    10 Digits confirmation number known as the MTCN #
    Amount Sent.
    Tel #
    Please confirm the address were the keys and documents will be delivered to:

    Thanks so much and God Bless You
    Awaiting to hear from you soon
    Jack

    • Kathleen  On March 23, 2011 at 11:06 am

      Another Warning!!!!

      Julan Davis and a Mark Leopade (same person?) are both claiming to be indefinitely living in Nigeria while renting out their apartments in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. They are requesting a deposit of $200 in order that they may send the apartment keys and “documents” via DHL courier from Nigeria!

  • Ashley  On May 18, 2010 at 11:20 am

    m.s.c.v1978@hotmail.com is scamming in Geneva now. we

    i as far as receiving the lease from him/her. but i dont send money without original signed contracts from the other party so fortunately he/she didn’t get away with my funds.

    does anyone know if it is ok to bring the authorities in to deal with this issue?

    watch out everyone and good luck!

    here’s the email i received.

    Hello
    I Have large, bright, beautiful and convienient apartment for rent in Geneva, my name is Sander Cristina Marques Valente 32 years old Originally from Portugal.

    This is a Lovely fully-furnished apartment is includes 3 very large rooms with king Size Beds, an eat-in kitchen and bath.

    The apartment is 3 bedroom but 2 bedrooms is vacant.
    The bedrooms proper features a very comfortable 2 king size bed, can sleep extra persons very comfortably.

    Rent includes all the usual amenities (-Dryer/washer, Wireless internet connection, color TV with digital cable and DVD player, microwave, STORE,Air conditioner,Spacious closets…), plus a few extras like a house telephone and a nifty speaker system for MP3 players and laptops.

    The Rent CHF550/A ROOM FOR A MONTH
    Security deposits CHF500

    800sq feet of space-Utilities included,Deeper discounts for longer stays.Month to Month lease.(I’m ready to sign a year lease as well depending on you)This is a private arrangement without any help from agencies.Therefore much is based on mutual trust and respect.
    Please let back to me directly via my email (m.s.c.v1978@hotmail.com)
    Let me hear from you if you haven’t find any.
    Regards
    Sander

    • ruedeseine  On May 18, 2010 at 1:33 pm

      Ashley, yes, you should definitely notify police about such scam attempts.
      If everyone keeps quiet, how will anything ever be done?

  • eff kay  On May 21, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Got this from Edwin Bekeens. He responded to my ad on craigslist saying that he has an apartment in Berlin. He’s posted pictures of a top class flat which is at least 1000 euro worth per week:
    Thanks for your reply. Hope you do understand that the most important issue is the upkeep of the apartment. I have attached some pictures of the apartment, I took them a day to my departure. Yes the rent for your period of stay for two people is 350EUR and it also covers all utilities.
    The apartment is located on Grossbeerenstrasse, Berlin 10965, Germany. The apartment is a very desirable location in the heart of Kreuzberg. Local shopping is plentiful and varied as well as offering a host of restaurants, bars and cafes. The buzzy and popular Bergmann Strasse with its trendy shops and buzzy cafes is a short walk of only 5-600 metres.
    At the end of the road is the beautiful Victoria Park with its national monument. This monument provides an excellent viewpoint over much of the southern portions of the city. An artificial waterfall originates at the foot of the monument and continues down the hillside to the intersection of Grodbeerenstraße and Kreuzbergstrade. Additionally, the local wine Kreuz-Neroberger is cultivated here.
    Underground trains: U 7 (”Yorckstrade”), U 6 (”Mehringdamm”)
    Suburban trains (S-Bahn) (”Yorckstrade”): S 1 (Oranienburg Potsdam), S 2, S 25.
    Only one S-Bahn stop to the new major mainline station for South Berlin “Suedkreuz”
    Only 5 S-Bahn stops (changing trains at “Friedrichstrade”) to the central station ”Berlin Hauptbahnhof”
    Nearest Metro / Subway: Mehringdamm – 500 Meters.

    Here below is a copy of the rental application form, if still interested fill it out and get back to me. Note: the keys and necessary documents will be sent to your present address filled on the form.

  • Sofie  On May 23, 2010 at 6:45 am

    Thanks for this info!

    Ive just posted an add and got a this from Edwin! And in the folling email he even posted a contract for me to fill in…. I dont think so!

    “Hello,

    My one bedroom apartment in Barcelona is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.
    Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven, microwave,washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer. Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

    The price of the apartment is 600EUR per month, if you are interested get back to me so I can provide you with more details and also the rental application form.

    Regards,

    Edwin”

  • Australia  On May 24, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Thanks for your email and it is my gladness to hearing from you.I amRev Julan Davis,the owner of the apartment you are making enquiryof.Actually I resided in the apartment with my family,such as my wife and my only daugther before and resently we had packed due to my transferfrom my working place and now situated in London,and presently my apartment is still available for rent for $150p/w and $600p/m including the utilities like hydro,washer and security,it is furnised.Moreso Now, i went for a christian mission in the West Africa and i will
    like you to get in touch with my wife for more discussion as She is with the keys and the document to the apartment.Pls i want you to note that,i am a kind and honest man and also i spent alot on my property that i want to give you for rent,so i will solicit for your
    absolute mentenance of this apartment and want you to treat it as your own,is that taken,it is not the money the main problem but want you to keep it tidy all the time so that i will be glad to see it neat when i came for a check up.i do that once in a while.I also want you to let me have trust in you as i always stand on my word.Where are you located and where do you see our advert.Email my wife Jennifer on

  • Max  On June 25, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I went through exactly the same set of emails, identical wording. He was using “Edwin Bekenne”, and the email address ebekenne@gmail.com. Total scam artist. I even talked to him on the UK phone number he gives out -he sounded unbelievably weird and shifty and his entire schtick was a dead giveaway, although he tries to be convincing by saying he’s a “neat freak” and he wants “no parties”. Big, big warning…..

  • Mats Olsson  On July 7, 2010 at 6:21 am

    He’s is also trying it on in Stockholm right now. Received this:

    From email Edwin Bekenne

    Apparently he’s currently being investigated and they’ve managed to track his location.

    Hello,

    My two bedroom apartment in Stockholm is up for rent. I got a contract job in a design company that deals with architectural Design – Domestic Interiors – Exhibition Design – Interior Design, in England and I’ve presently relocated to London. The apartment will be available for a while as the first phase of my contract is one year.
    Its a fully furnished apartment with a complete bathroom. An area of study, with WI-FI Internet service,telephone service, and a kitchen totally equipped with electrical oven, microwave,washing machine,refrigerator, washing machine and dryer. Also it has a system of refrigeration and heating in all the apartment being able to enjoy the temperature you wish at any moment.

    The price of the apartment is 6700SEK per month, if you are interested get back to me so I can provide you with more details and also the rental application form.

    Regards,

    Edwin.

  • Wendy in Sydney  On July 13, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Plus ca change….
    Edwin Bekenne (edbeks2@yahoo.com) strikes again! Using the same wording as has been quoted repeatedly above, he contacted us with an apartment in Central Amsterdam, and has given us the “rental form” to fill out. Thank goodness he’s so transparent. Avoid like the plague.

  • Melinda Lucas  On August 7, 2010 at 4:02 am

    I, too, have been scammed out of about $1,000 USD. He told me that he had just taken a job in London at a design firm and that he has this BEAUTIFUL apartment in Paris on Rue Mouftard in the 5th in Paris. The pictures looked like something out of a magazine. The last 2 times I actually got on the phone with him I was on a land line and he pretended that he could not hear me even though I could hear him perfectly. He hung up and I called right back and I got a recorded message that his phone was turned off and he was not accepting any messages.

    Thank you to everyone who posted here… I will go to Paris…I just won’t be staying at his non-existant apartment.

  • Melinda Lucas  On August 7, 2010 at 4:20 am

    BTW: if anyone would like to bug him by phone… his phone number is: +447024053762

    And here is his supposed address: Edwin Bekenne
    17 Richmond St Newham, London E13 9AA, UK

    I do know that (at least for now) that is a valid phone number. Have NO idea about the address, though. I will be calling London police tomorrow. He sent me a scan of his passport…but that could be stolen.

    What a dirt-bag. Thank God he didn’t take me for more.

  • Jenny Rei  On August 26, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    I’m glad I found this site and red his name.. so here for everyone who from outside Israel who want to rent an apartment… dont trust this example:

    DETAILS Freitag, 27. August, 2010 01:42 Uhr
    Von: Dieser Absender wurde von DomainKeys geprüft und bestätigt”Barbara Smith” Absender in den Kontakten speichern
    An: …

    I will be glad if you can hold the keys and the documents of the apartment for now so it will be more easier for you to move in and aslo i can be rest assured that you are renting the apartment..You will take the information to any western union around you or money gramm and make the payment to the information,When i converted the monthly rent and the deposit to Euro it was 2000ILS (410 EURO)

    You will be making the payment right away via money gramm or western union around you and please make sure you make the payment carefully and correctly so they will not be delay at the DHL Company..Here is the DHL manager information you will be making the payment to via money gramm OR western unionand once the keys and the documents is on transit i will surely get back to you with the TRACKING# and exactly time you will be recieving the packages at your door step….

    Receiver’s Name First Name:JULAN

    Last Name DAVIS

    Receivers Address 112 PALM AVENUE ROAD.

    City: Victoria Garden City State:Lagos
    Country:Nigeria , Zipcode: 23401

    Test Question In God?
    Test Answer We Trust
    Amount? 2000ILS(410 EURO)
    As soon as you finish making the payment,Get back to me with your
    Following Information:

    1; Senders name,
    2: 8 Degit issued to you at the Money gramm OR 10 degit issued to you at the western union..

    3: Amount Sent.

    Thanks

    Best Regards

  • Jenny R.  On August 27, 2010 at 8:07 am

    The scam was sent from the email adress:

    <barbarasmith2565@yahoo.com

    They are liars and cheaters!! Don‘t trust anything they told you!!

    Julan Davis and/or <barbarasmith2565@yahoo.com are cheating on craiglists!!!!

    And I was looking for the emailaddress and found articles about SCAM in California from 2008!!!!

  • Ian23  On December 7, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Wow I’m so glad I checked this site. I’m moving to winnipeg to start a new job and almost decided on this “apartment”. I felt some what uneasy about the eagerness of this guy to rent me his place with out any screening process but I thought just maybe they were the bleeding heart christian type. Anyways, Julan? you suck.
    Thanks for getting back to me and am so so glad to read from you,Yes my weekend was very okay,There is no problems if you are moving by jan 2 but all we need is a good care and support that you will surely take very good care of the apartment,You dont need to bring anything to the apartment because furnitures and dishes are in the apartment,Moreso everything you needed are all in the apartment as we said earlier..

    Have handle the keys and the documents of the apartment to DHL Company and they are reasy to proceed as soon as the $200 has been recieved,I will get back to you via email with the TRACKING# so you can track them on DHL Website to confirm that your package is on transit.I assure you with 100% Guarantee that you will be recieving(Keys and Documents) without problems and moreso your names will be wriiten in the documents as a bonafide tanant we’ll be having presently,We are not giving our apartment out all because of money but we need someone that can take good care of the property due to our missionary job to preach to the globe about word of God…

    When my wife go through your Application form she was so happy to it that we are renting our apartment to a reliable person,So we both decided to give you a month rent for free and we’ll be adding it to the reciept you will be recieving via DHL Company,So i want you to keep the trust and honest that you will not be having any problems once more

    Kindly Make sure you make the payment carefully and correctly via money gramm so they will not be delay at the DHL Company..Here is the DHL information you will be making the payment to via money gramm,once the keys and the documents is on transit i will surely get back to you with the TRACKING# and exactly time you will be recieving the packages at your door step from the address you provided(104 Ave Edmonton AB, T5N0X5 )

    Here is my wife information you will be making the payment to via money gramm

    Receiver’s Name First Name:JULAN

    Last Name DAVIS

    Receivers Address 112 PALM AVENUE ROAD.

    City: Victoria Garden City State:Lagos
    Country:Nigeria , Zipcode: 23401

    Amount?$200

    Test Question In God?
    Test Answer We Trust

    As soon as you finish making the payment,Get back to me with your
    Following Information:

    1; Senders name,
    2: 8 Degit issued to you at the Money gramm
    3: Amount Sent.

  • Kathleen  On March 23, 2011 at 11:10 am

    exact same scam as I just went through in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada (almost word for word!)

  • Natasha Thomas  On March 27, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Hi all, Heads up!!
    Watch out for this email address: kimberlystacy60@yahoo.com
    Same reason as everyone else, i was nearly scammed by this person, advertising cheap rentals in NEW ZEALAND.
    Everything just sound too good to be true, and so it WAS.
    The day i was suppose to make payment, was the day i found the truth! Thank God he was looking over me.
    Abit of information to look out for:
    Receivers Name: Eric Murphy
    Receivers Address: 112 Palm Avenue Rd
    City: Victoria Island
    State: Lagos
    Country: Nigeria
    I was only young at the time this nearly happened so i never had a clue to google Nigerian Scammers!! Its been 2 years now, and i have just found my emails i was sending to this person. Known as Mr & Mrs Stacy. So when reading everyone else’s comments i have decided to put up a NOTICE od WARNING myself. Take Caution and Be Very Careful. Unfortunately its as easy as it looks. Believe in your insticts. Don’t do it.

  • Andrea  On April 16, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    I got the SAME exact email for an apartment for rent in Hamilton, Ont. Absolutely beautiful! Thanks to this site I didn’t get scammed! LIAR!
    Here is my wife information given below

    Receiver’s Name First Name:JULAN

    Last Name DAVIS

    Receivers Address 112 PALM AVENUE ROAD.

    City: Victoria Garden City State:Lagos
    Country:Nigeria , Zipcode: 23401

    Amount?$200

    Test Question In God?
    Test Answer We Trust

    As soon as you finish making the payment,Get back to me with your
    Following Information:

    1; Senders name,
    2: 8 Degit issued to you at the Money gramm or 10 degit issued to you at the western union
    3: Amount Sent.

    Thanks

  • i  On August 5, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    The guy also attempt to scam here in San Jose, California, luckily i found this website and noticed there is something odd about his email. we saw his ad here:

    http://sfbay.craigslist.org/sby/apa/2530883766.html

    and his email is soloriosrjosef@yahoo.com

    He poses as Dr. Jose F Solorio
    ——————-
    Thanks for your inquiry, I am Dr. Jose F Solorio sr Owner of the property that is placed for rent,the property was initially put up for sale before my family talked me into renting it out OK,it is spacious, you can move in as soon as the deposit is paid, I resided in the house with my family before getting a new job with the World Health Organization as a consultant Epidemiologist and now resides in Africa , the house is in perfect state it has washer and dryer and it goes for the price as listed per month including the utilities, and i will prefer a tenant that will take absolute care of the house as his/her own,the deposit is $800 and you are not paying deposit for pets if any.
    All i need from you is to maintain the house as its your OK.
    Do provide the information’s below:
    KINDLY CONFIRM YOUR INTEREST BY FILLING THE FORM BELOW..
    TENANT RENT APPLICATION FORM
    FIRST NAME:
    LAST NAME:___________
    PROFESSION:
    PHONE (_______
    (CELL)PHONE (___________
    (WORK)PHONE (__________ (HOME)
    KIDS–
    HOW MANY_______
    PRESENT ADDRESS:___
    CITY:_______
    STATE___________
    ZIP CODE:______
    HOW LONG?– IF RENTING WHY ARE YOU LEAVING?
    IF THIS PROPERTY IS BEING GIVEN TO YOU,HOW LONG DO YOU INTEND
    STAYING
    WHEN DO YOU INTEND MOVING IN?IF YOU HAVE A PET,
    NAME OF PET:________ HABITS .
    I look forward to read your reply with all the details.
    Regards
    Dr. Jose F Solorio sr
    TEL. 011234 818 726 5280

    ———————–

    Dear XXX,
    Thanks for sending in your application ,attached here is the pictures of your new home and regarding taking a tour of the property. i want to inform you that the interior is in a very perfect condition and you will love it upon getting the keys, i do have it here with me and it will be sent to you by courier service as my immediate family are here with me, l can assure you that you are renting the best with all brand new appliances, large rooms and space it will meet all your needs, as it is a very safe neighborhood, you will love it.
    Having read the details you sent in and taking time out to review all other applications submitted, i found yours very satisfactory, so be informed that i have considered you as my new tenant, do feel free in my house as it is now your new home, we will have the best of landlord / tenant relationship.
    So all you should do now is to send the deposit of $800 which is all that is required for your move in and your rent starts from the date of move in OK, the deposit is to enable me send the keys to you via courier service and once the payment details is received which should include senders name,address and amount paid the keys will be sent to your present address.
    The deposit should be sent through western union money transfer or money gram in my name and address below and the keys and signed lease agreement will be sent to you via courier service and you will receive it at your present address within 48 hrs of receiving the payment information, i look forward to your reply.
    Do call me as soon as you receive this email as i look forward to speak with you.

    PAYMENT INFORMATION
    NAME: Dr. Jose F Solorio sr

    ADDRESS: 12 Norman Williams Street Ikoyi
    Lagos .
    Nigeria .
    TEXT QUS.: COLOR
    TEXT ANS.: BLUE
    TEL. 0112348187265280

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers